## REGULAR BOARD MEETING Work Session September 7, 2016

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 7, 2016 in the board room at the high school at 6:00 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Charlie Blixt, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger. Board members absent: Mike Forsgren. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Test scores were discussed.

Jon Karger, Chair

Dena Johnson, Clerk

## REGULAR BOARD MEETING September 19, 2016

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 19, 2016 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Charlie Blixt, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Steph Winjum, Barb Ripley, Janell Schmidt, Harold Holt, Matt DeFoe, Marcus Askvig, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Matt DeFoe presented the 2015-16 audit report.

Harold Holt reported information about the James Madison Legacy Project.

 Mike Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items: Approve board minutes – regular board meeting-August 15, 2016 Approve payment of the August 31<sup>st</sup> and September bills and wire transfers as presented Accept donations: To scholarships in memory of Jim Handorff-Anonymous \$10 To ISD 548-Arvig \$6,379 Personnel: Hire Kendra Mohn as elementary band teacher
The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the 2015-16 final audit as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the preliminary levy for tax year 2017-18 at the maximum amount. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

## DESIGNATION OF IDENTIFIED OFFICIAL WITH AUTHORITY FOR THE MDE EXTERNAL USER ACCESS RECERTIFICATION SYSTEM

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) requires that school districts, charter schools or other organizations annually designate an Identified Official with Authority to comply with State Access Control Security Standard 1.0 which states that all user access rights to Minnesota state

systems must be reviewed and recertified at least annually. The Identified Official with Authority will assign job duties and authorize external user's access to MDE secure systems for their local education agency (LEA) or organization. The Superintendent/Director recommends the Board or equivalent governing board authorize Deborah Wanek to act as the Identified Official with Authority for the Pelican Rapids Public School.

The motion for approval was seconded by Mitch Monson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor:

Dena Johnson, Mitch Monson, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt, Mike Forsgren, Kathy Ouren And the following voted against:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the first reading of Policy 902 Facility Use with the following revision: add Cub Scouts to the list of groups exempt from rental charges The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Mitch Monson moved to approve fundraisers for 2016-17 as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve October 12, 2016 at 6:30 pm for a work session. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Jon Karger, Chair

Dena Johnson, Clerk